The Beginning

A friend took me to the clinic for an endo/colonoscopy. The procedure was pretty straight forward. I was under anesthesia for all of it. I woke up and it was all over (or it was only just beginning). I was groggy from the anesthesia and that was the worst of the effects.  The physician said that it might be crohn’s disease – I didn’t like the idea of a life long illness, but it was a diagnoses, an answer to a question that has been plaguing me for months. The physician had taken some biopsies from the inflamed site in my ascending colon, and sent them off to a laboratory for a pathology analysis before he could provide an actual diagnosis. I had lunch with a friend, ice cream and played games, good happy day. On the way the clinic called and told me I could have my results by Friday, if i liked, just 2 days later. I immediately said yes i was available. – patience is a virtue, but it isn’t one of mine. All in all, good happy day…and I had the day off work.

The physically most painful thing in a colonoscopy is the needle for the anesthetic.

 

Author: fightingcancerblog

I am a forensic toxicologist by profession, a lover of nature, books, science fiction and life. I particularly love sea turtles, but this is not a blog about sea turtles. I was diagnosed with colon cancer at the age of 29. I learned some lessons along the way, and found a lot of answers from other experiences. I wanted to contribute my experience with the disease to the growing network of human intelligence that is the internet.

Leave a comment